Fulfilling a dream – New York Part 1

For many many years I had been talking about visiting New York and as I celebrated a special birthday this year (Not 29 any more. No, not 39 either) this trip was a birthday present to myself. Some might think, oh that sounds like a midlife crisis – well, so be it. But instead of getting myself a flashy sports car I invest the money in travel instead.

I’ve been here for two days now (well, 1 1/2 really) and what can I say, I love it. I have seen many of the major sights already but have yet to try my luck on the subway. I like to walk to get a feel for a new place or city, a habit my feet don’t always appreciate.

So I wanted to share a couple of first impressions and experiences:

For a city that has to struggle with a lot of traffic there aren’t many ‘city cars’. The overall attitude seems to be ‘the bigger the better’. Maybe it’s the need to conquer the urban wilderness. I can count the number of small cars on one hand so far and for good measure I put the only VW Beetle into the count as well.

Cyclists seem to have a suicidal tendency. Not just because they even attempt to cycle in this mad traffic but because of the way they drive. It’s more likely to get run over by a bicycle than a car.

I never thought I could get a worse sunburn whilst walking in the shadows of skyscrapers than lying on a mediterranean beach.

Central Park is amazing and was just the right choice for a long walk after arriving here. There are some other beautiful parks and squares throughout the city which makes it feel quite green actually.

central park upper west side small

View from Central Park towards ‘real estate heaven’ on Upper West Side.

I like Little Italy, it feels like being on a holiday whilst on holiday. Reminded me of some Italian places I’ve been to.

I’ve never seen that many people on one bridge than on Brooklyn Bridge.

brooklyn bridge

Always stay on your side of the walkway and be aware of the cyclists. I’ve witnessed several almost collisions because people were taking photographs and not paying attention to their surroundings.

brooklyn hights manhattan

Time for an afternoon snack with a lovely view from Brooklyn towards Manhattan.

The High Line was a marvellous idea and gives you a bit of a break from all the hustle and bustle while still getting new impressions of the city.

the high line

The High Line was once a dingy elevated rail line.

Times Square is just madness and somehow looks bigger on TV. A wide-angle lens from an upper floor can work wonders.

times square

Just to give you an idea this was round about 9pm and still bustling.

Some other well known buildings of the city:

flatiron building

Flatiron Building – it’s worthwhile taking a closer look because it features some beautiful exterior details.

empire state building

One of the landmarks – the Empire State Building.

chrysler building

I love the fusion of art deco and a bit of Gothic. Those must be the most famous gargoyles on a skyscraper. The Chrysler Building.

radio city music hall

Can’t be missed, Radio City Music Hall.

Just a few observations so far. Obviously there’s more to see than just your usual sightseeing destinations but that’s something for a later date, just too many photos to go through and there’s so much to do and see…

One thought on “Fulfilling a dream – New York Part 1

  1. Pingback: All is ‘tickety-boo’ – this was 2015 | design and dragons

Leave a Reply

