The Seven Wonders of Wales – Pistyll Rhaeadr

I thought it was about time to visit another of the Seven Wonders of Wales and a bit of colourful foliage would make a nice frame for a waterfall. Above all I learned four things:

  1. These really narrow village roads, lined with old stone houses, that are so narrow that at the end you think you’ll have the houses’ hanging baskets dangling from your wing mirror – Not too keen on those.
  2. A single-track road with passing places that goes on for mile, after mile, after mile, winding down the countryside still makes my palms slightly sweaty. Remember, I’m a city girl.
  3. The saying “Children and fools tell the truth” is sometimes correct. I met a family with a young boy at the bottom of the falls. They were coming down the hill as I was starting to go up. The boy said to his mother “The mountain was high!” – Should have warned me…
  4. The waterfall is beautiful and must be even more so with a bit of sunshine and less rain.
pistyll-rhaeadr-1

My first glimpse of Pistyll Rhaeadr.

 

You might not have heard of the Seven Wonders of Wales yet, so here’s an anonymously written rhyme commemorating them:
Pistyll Rhaeadr and Wrexham steeple,
Snowdon’s mountain without its people,
Overton yew trees, St Winefride’s well,
Llangollen bridge and Gresford bells.

Apart from the Overton yew trees (I’ve been to Overton though) and the Gresford bells I have seen them all now. Let me just give you a couple of facts about Pistyll Rhaeadr.
Pistyll Rhaeadr is situated in the Berwyn Mountains in Powys, Mid Wales, and at a height of 240ft (80m) the UK’s tallest single drop waterfall. It might not have the volume or the width but it is in fact higher than Niagara Falls.

pistyll-rhaeadr-7

Closer up.

pistyll-rhaeadr-2

And from another angle. It’s just impressive.

pistyll-rhaeadr-1b

A bit of indian summer further downstream.

After I admired it from the bottom, I decided to walk up the “mountain” and take a look at where it all starts. You get some stunning views of the valley (at least on a clear day) but it was worthwhile the effort.

pistyll-rhaeadr-panorama

Panorama on my way up.

pistyll-rhaeadr-3

Almost there.

pistyll-rhaeadr-4

The stream before it falls over the edge.

pistyll-rhaeadr-6

There it goes.

pistyll-rhaeadr-5

You get spectacular views up there.

Back down again I had a walk around the adjoining woods. Unfortunately it had started to rain earlier so it was just a brief walk.

wood2

Autumn colours.

wood-squirrel

I sneaked up on this little fellow.

2 thoughts on “The Seven Wonders of Wales – Pistyll Rhaeadr

Leave a Reply

