Do children still play games?

And I’m not talking about board games.

I’ve been toying with this idea for another blog for a while now and thought I’d pass it by you all. You might mutter under your breath “Another blog? She can barely keep up with her current one.” I know, I know, and I’m sorry about that. It’s just that I keep coming back to this idea over and over again. So let me tell you about it.

During my childhood and teenager years I spent a lot of time in various youth groups, summer camps and weekends away. Whereas the youth groups usually meant weekly meetings with about 10 children and 2 teenagers as ‘group leaders’, the weekends and camps could go up to almost 100 participating children and teenagers/young adults.

And we played. A lot. Outdoors, indoors, small groups, large groups, loud and very active or quieter and calmer. And even better, these games didn’t require much equipment or, if so, it was really cheap and consisted of things you mostly had at home anyway.

Now, I had this idea to write them all down, explain how they work, what you need and who they are suited for. Maybe do a little illustration every now and again.

The blog would be bilingual, as I’ve come to love, play and explain these games in my mother tongue German, but would translate them into English (as far as possible).

Now here’s the question: Do you think anybody would be interested in this? Do children still play games like these?

I would love to hear your thoughts.

Oh, and if you’ve got an idea for a name, I’d appreciate the help.

3 thoughts on “Do children still play games?

Leave a Reply

