One year and counting

My first year of blogging lies behind me and I’m still enjoying it very much, although I have to admit it was a bit of a learning curve. When I started off it seemed to me that everybody had a blog these days and I thought: ‘if they can do it, I can do it – I’ve got something interesting to say, too.’ And as I was contributing regularly to my employer’s blog, I already had a bit of experience. How hard could it be? Well, it’s not quite as easy as I thought it would be and this first anniversary gives me a chance to look back at some of the things I’ve learned so far…

  • Posting: When I first started I vowed to myself enthusiastically to post twice a week. Or at least once. Well, I had to realise that life gets in the way sometimes and there have been weeks when I didn’t post at all. I always feel bad about it but, being that the blog is just a hobby, I can live with that.
  • Content: I like where I live, very much so, but I think it’s fair to say that this corner of North Wales is probably not the hub of (graphic) design. For bigger things you have to look to the bigger cities and as a result some events bypass me completely. I can always find interesting topics on the internet but just reblogging what other people already wrote about is not quite my thing. That’s probably why the posts are more about my ramblings in the countryside and what I discover on my various trips. But if this makes you more interested in this beautiful country then I have achieved something. And I always keep my eyes open for some interesting design news.
  • Stats: I never thought I could get so obsessed with numbers and graphs. There wasn’t a day during those first months when I didn’t check how many views, visitors and clicks I got and in what countries they were made. And once I had  a spike in my numbers, I wanted to achieve this again. I can say, that I’m much more relaxed about this now. I still check my stats regularly (not necessarily every day though) but I don’t break into a sweat if the numbers are going down. I rather use them to figure out what posts and categories are popular because it gives me an idea what you, the reader, are interested in.

So I’d like to take this opportunity to say ‘thank you’ for stopping by and reading my blog. I hope to see you again in the future.

 

Leave a Reply

