A day out in Chirk

Chirk - my destination for today

Chirk – my destination for today

It was another lovely day today and I thought before summer comes to a close (the rain clouds are already on their way) I go for a ramble around Chirk. The little town of Chirk lies near the English border and has much to offer.

To start with I made my way to the Chirk Aqueduct and Viaduct. Side by side canal and railway bridge the Ceiriog Valley. The aqueduct was built by Thomas Telford, the same man who built the Pontcysyllte Aqueduct, and opened in 1801. The viaduct was constructed by Henry Robertson and opened 47 years later. It is quite a sight even though it is not as high as the Pontcysyllte Aqueduct.

The Chirk aqueduct on the left with the railway viaduct to the right

The Chirk aqueduct on the left with the railway viaduct to the right

The aqueduct is 21 m high and 220 m long

The aqueduct is 21 m high and 220 m long

Here comes the train. Just in time.

Here comes the train. Just in time.

Looking back towards Wales

Looking back towards Wales

Crossing the border

Crossing the border

I decided to stroll along the Shropshire Union Canal for a bit before returning to Chirk.

One day I'm going to hire on of these boats myself

One day I’m going to hire on of these boats myself

I could have walked on for miles...

I could have walked on for miles…

Making my way back into Wales

Making my way back to Wales

With some time to spare I decided to visit Chirk Castle.

The "Pretty Gates". The name wasn't my idea but they do look pretty

The “Pretty Gates”. The name wasn’t my idea but they do look pretty

Chirk Castle is a Marcher fortress with amazing views over the English borderlands. Built in 1310 and continuously occupied ever since, it was bought by the Myddelton family in 1595 who still live there today.

The first time I walk there, usually I drive.

Chirk-Caste-Tree1

Loving these trees

Loving these trees

The forest was really welcomed as it was quite warm

The forest was really welcomed as it was quite warm

Almost there...

Almost there…

I finally made it

I finally made it

The courtyard

The courtyard

Entrance to some of the rooms you can see

Entrance to some of the rooms you can see

The newly refurbished east wing

The newly refurbished east wing

View from the garden

View from the garden

Obviously there is much more to see at Chirk Castle but that would take too long now. I show you some more in a separate post.

One thought on “A day out in Chirk

  1. Pingback: A walk through time – from a 19th century canal to a medieval castle | design and dragons

Leave a Reply

