What’s in a name?

I always liked my first name (thanks to my parents) as it is quite short, not too common and you can’t make stupid nicknames from it. But recently I spotted this in a German drugstore. A tampon? Really? And what does probiotic mean in this context?

probiotic

This got me thinking and I started to look for other ‘unsuitable’ product names. I never really got “Spotted Dick” as a name for a dessert.
20130509-220931.jpg
Apparently catering staff in nearby Flintshire County Council renamed the pudding Spotted Richard on their menus in 2009 because of the use of the word dick in the name. However this was reversed after a couple of weeks.

Another one I really like is the name of this breakfast cereal.
20130509-221059.jpg
So after all I guess it could be worse…

Leave a Reply

